UPFA wins the East but loses seats


Rejected Votes45,2916.67 % TAMIZH DEMOCRATIC NATIONAL ALLIANCE7,7141.301 In the last elections held in the Eastern Province in 2008 the UPFA had won over 50 percent of the votes. SRI LANKA PROGRESSIVE FRONT260.00 Total Polled646,45665.78 Rejected Votes54,7808.47 Total votes received by non elected independent groups12,361 * Including two(2) bonus seats. UNITED NATIONAL PARTY250,73242.3815 People’s Liberation Front3,1540.5 % Sri Lanka Labour Party2680.04 % The United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) won the elections in the eastern province, but by just a small margin.Final results released by the department of elections shows that the UPFA had secured 14 seats including two bonus seats by winning 31.58 percent of the total votes. Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan alias Pillayan was appointed as the Chief Minister of the Eastern Province following the UPFA victory at the 2008 polls. Eksath Lanka Maha Sabha1220.02 % AKILA ILANKAI TAMIL UNITED FRONT3780.06 THE LIBERAL PARTY30.00 The UPFA secured 52.21 percent of the total votes in the Eastern Province in 2008 and got 20 seats in the council while the UNP was second with 15 seats. The UNP managed to win just 4 seats this year.In this year’s election ITAK got 6 seats from the Batticaloa district while the UPFA got 4, ITAK got 3 seats in Trincomalee while the UPFA also got 3 and in Ampara the UPFA got 5 as opposed to 2 by ITAK. PEOPLE’S FRONT OF LIBERATION TIGERS3830.06 United National Party74,90111.82 %4 Eksath Lanka Podujana Pakshaya900.01 % MUSLIM LIBERATION FRONT390.01 SRI LANKA NATIONAL FRONT300.01 Registered Electors1,033,749 14* UNITED SOCIALIST PARTY2,5480.43 UNITED PEOPLE’S FREEDOM ALLIANCE308,88652.21*20 Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi193,82730.59 %11 The Illangai Thamil Arasu Katchi (ITAK) secured 11 seats by getting 30.59 percent of the votes and the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress was third with 7 seats. Socialist Alliance2,4800.39 % * Includes 2 bonus seats under Section 61A(2) of the Provincial Council Elections Act No 2 of 1988 EELAM PEOPLE’S DEMOCRATIC PARTY5,4180.92 Name of the Party/Independent GroupNo. of Votes Received Provincial Council Elections 2012 No. of Members Elected Percentage % United People’s Freedom Alliance200,04431.58 % Our National Front1630.03 % Total Valid Votes633,53493.33 % Eelavar Democratic Front2,6930.43 % UNITED NATIONAL ALLIANCE5790.10 Eastern Province Regis. Electors982,721 National Freedom Front9,5221.5 %1 Akila Ilankai Tamil United Front4600.07 % PEOPLE’S LIBERATION FRONT9,3901.591 United Socialist Party2890.05 % Valid Votes591,67691.53 PROVINCIAL COUNCIL ELECTIONS – 2008Final ResultsEASTERN PROVINCE RUHUNU JANATHA PARTY140.00 JATHIKA SANGWARDHENA PERAMUNA1890.03 POLITICAL PARTY/ INDEPENDENT GROUPVOTES OBTAINEDPERCENTAGESEATS Sri Lanka Muslim Congress132,91720.98 %7 Muslim Liberation Front570.01 % Ruhunu Janatha Party160.00 % Patriotic National Front850.01 % NAWA SIHALA URUMAYA3120.05 Total Votes Polled678,82565.67 % EELAVAR DEMOCRATIC FRONT2,2750.38 Jana Setha Peramuna850.01 % SINHALAYE MAHASAMMATHA BHOOMIPUTRA PAKSHAYA1090.02

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *