Raninder re-elected NRAI president for four years


first_img(Eds: With additional inputs) Chandigarh, Jul 8 (PTI) Incumbent Raninder Singh was today re-elected president of the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) for a four-year term with an overwhelming mandate in Mohali today. In the elections conducted at the PCA Stadium premises, Raninder recorded a 89-1 margin over Shyam Singh Yadav, president of Uttar Pradesh Rifle Association, in a lop-sided affair. Yadav had lost to trap shooter Raninder in the last elections too, in 2010. Raninder is the son of Punjab Chief Minister Capt. Amarinder Singh. The 48-year-old Singh, who represents Punjab in NRAIs governing body, is an active trap shooter and has also participated in ISSF World Cups and National Championships. The incumbent secretary general, DV Seetharama Rao was earlier elected unanimously for a second term as well. In the vote of thanks, Raninder said that the NRAI had recently taken cognizance of the 18 per cent Goods and Services Tax (GST) levied on all imports, including duty-free imports. The federation felt that this could have an adverse impact on the shooting sport ecosystem, including on athletes vying to bring glory to the country, as most of the world- class equipment pertaining to the sport needs to be imported and were till now part of the customs duty free list. In this context, he assured the federation and the shooting fraternity that he will “personally take up the matter on behalf of the federation with the Ministry of Finance, via the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs, in right earnest”. He said the NRAI “expects an early resolution” to the issue and will do all in its power to ensure that the athletes and the sport are not affected. Karan Kumar has been elected as treasurer of the sports body. A few fresh faces were inducted into the governing body of NRAI, including K N Singh Deo, who was unanimously elected as senior vice president. Deo is a BJD MP from Odisha. The members for the posts of senior vice president, secretary general, joint secretary generals, treasurer and members of governing body of NRAI were also elected unanimously. Elections were conducted for the posts of president, vice presidents (8) and secretaries (6). Raninder was first appointed to the top in 2010, after the demise of Digvijay Singh. PTI VJ/AH ATK ATKadvertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *