EHS graduate John Edes to be inducted to Maine Basketball Hall of Fame


first_img Bio EHS names new boys’ soccer coach – July 13, 2016 Part 2: When the injury is inside your head, some “don’t get it” – July 26, 2016 Taylor VorthermsSports Editor at The Ellsworth AmericanTaylor Vortherms covers sports in Hancock County. The St. Louis, Missouri native recently graduated from the Missouri School of Journalism and joined The Ellsworth American in 2013. Part 1: Invisible, incapacitating concussions are sidelining high school athletes – July 19, 2016center_img ELLSWORTH — An Ellsworth High School graduate, John Edes, has been selected as an inductee to the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame.Edes led the Ellsworth boys’ basketball team to the 1954 New England Championships. The Eagles competed in the finals in front of 13,000 fans at the Boston Gardens, where Edes scored 27 points in Ellsworth’s 54-53 loss to Hillhouse.The Maine Basketball Hall of Fame is also honoring the 1954 Ellsworth boys’ basketball team led by Coach Charlie Katsiaficus, after whom the EHS gymnasium — Katsiaficus Gymnasium — is named. This team name will be engraved on a plaque for permanent display in the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame Concourse at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor.Edes finished high school with a career total of 1,227 points. He was an All-Maine selection for three years from 1952-1954 as well as an All-New England selection in 1954.This is placeholder textThis is placeholder textEdes continued his basketball career at Colby College, where he established himself as one of the Mules’ greatest players.Other inductees of the 2015 class include Roger Reed, Bruce MacGregor, Art Dyer, Dwight Littlefield, Gene Hunter, Dick Barstow, Dick Meader, Bob Warner, Gary Towle, Wayne Champeon, Dan Drinon, Edward “Bo” McFarland, Maureen Burchill Cooper, Ted Shiro, Peter Kelley, Denis Clark, Nick Scaccia, Emily Ellis, Marcie Lane Schulenburg, Steve Condon, Ray Bishop, Paul Fortin, Keith Mahaney, Liz Coffin, John Norris, Jack Coyne, Peter Webb and Ed Marchetti.These athletes will receive official recognition August 23 in Bangor. Latest Posts Latest posts by Taylor Vortherms (see all)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *