Something Rotten! Tops List of 2015 Outer Critics Circle Nominations

first_imgThe nominations for the 65th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced on April 20. Something Rotten! led the pack with 12 nominations. Additional top nominees included On the Twentieth Century with nine nods and An American in Paris with eight. Wolf Hall garnered the most nominations of any play with seven. Winners for the following competitive categories will be announced on May 11, with a presentation ceremony set for May 21 at Sardi’s Restaurant. The Outer Critics Circle is an organization of writers and commentators covering New York theater for various out-of-town media outlets.Outstanding New Broadway PlayThe AudienceThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeWolf HallOutstanding New Broadway MusicalAn American in ParisIt Shoulda Been YouThe Last ShipSomething Rotten!The VisitOutstanding New Off-Broadway PlayBetween Riverside and CrazyThe City of ConversationThe NetherRasheeda SpeakingThe Village BikeOutstanding New Off-Broadway MusicalA Christmas MemoryDisenchantedThe Fortress of SolitudeHamiltonLonesome TravelerOutstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway) HamiltonIt Shoulda Been YouThe Last ShipSomething Rotten!The VisitOutstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway) HamiltonIt Shoulda Been YouThe Last ShipSomething Rotten!The VisitOutstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway) The Elephant ManFashions for MenThe Heidi ChroniclesSkylightYou Can’t Take It With YouOutstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway) Into the WoodsThe King and IOn the TownOn the Twentieth CenturySide ShowOutstanding Actor in a PlayReed Birney, I’m Gonna Pray For You So HardBradley Cooper, The Elephant ManStephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and CrazyBen Miles, Wolf HallAlex Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeOutstanding Actress in a PlayGreta Gerwig, The Village BikeJan Maxwell, The City of ConversationHelen Mirren, The AudienceElisabeth Moss, The Heidi ChroniclesTonya Pinkins, Rasheeda SpeakingOutstanding Actor in a MusicalChristian Borle, Something Rotten!Brian d’Arcy James, Something Rotten!Robert Fairchild, An American in ParisPeter Gallagher, On the Twentieth CenturyTony Yazbeck, On the TownOutstanding Actress in a MusicalKristin Chenoweth, On the Twentieth CenturyLeanne Cope, An American in ParisTyne Daly, It Shoulda Been YouKelli O’Hara, The King and IChita Rivera, The VisitOutstanding Featured Actor in a PlayPaul Jesson, Wolf HallRichard McCabe, The AudienceAlessandro Nivola, The Elephant ManNathaniel Parker, Wolf HallBryce Pinkham, The Heidi ChroniclesOutstanding Featured Actress in a PlayAnnaleigh Ashford, You Can’t Take It With YouPatricia Clarkson, The Elephant ManFrancesca Faridany, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeJulie Halston, You Can’t Take It With YouLydia Leonard, Wolf HallOutstanding Featured Actor in a MusicalJohn Cariani, Something Rotten!Josh Grisetti, It Shoulda Been YouAndy Karl, On the Twentieth CenturyPaul Alexander Nolan, Doctor ZhivagoMax von Essen, An American in ParisOutstanding Featured Actress in a MusicalHeidi Blickenstaff, Something Rotten!Victoria Clark, GigiMegan Fairchild, On the TownRuthie Ann Miles, The King and IMary Louise Wilson, On the Twentieth CenturyOutstanding Director of a PlayStephen Daldry, The AudienceMarianne Elliott, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeScott Ellis, The Elephant ManScott Ellis, You Can’t Take It With YouJeremy Herrin, Wolf HallOutstanding Director of a MusicalScott Ellis, On the Twentieth CenturyThomas Kail, HamiltonCasey Nicholaw, Something Rotten!David Hyde Pierce, It Shoulda Been YouChristopher Wheeldon, An American in ParisOutstanding ChoreographerJoshua Bergasse, On the TownAndy Blankenbuehler, HamiltonWarren Carlyle, On the Twentieth CenturyCasey Nicholaw, Something Rotten!Christopher Wheeldon, An American in ParisOutstanding Set Design (Play or Musical) Bunny Christie, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeBob Crowley, An American in ParisScott Pask, Something Rotten!David Rockwell, On the Twentieth CenturyMichael Yeargan, The King and IOutstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical) Gregg Barnes, Something Rotten!Bob Crowley, The AudienceWilliam Ivey Long, On the Twentieth CenturyChristopher Orem, Wolf HallCatherine Zuber, The King and IOutstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical) Paule Constable, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeJeff Croiter, Something Rotten!Rick Fisher, The AudienceNatasha Katz, An American in ParisJaphy Weideman, The VisitOutstanding Solo Performance Joe Assadourian, The BullpenJim Dale, Just Jim DaleTom Dugan, WiesenthalCush Jumbo, Josephine and IBenjamin Scheuer, The LionJohn Gassner Award (Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright)Ayad Akhtar, The Invisible HandHalley Feiffer, I’m Gonna Pray For You So HardElizabeth Irwin, My Mañana ComesMarkus Potter, Stalking the BogeymanBenjamin Scheuer, The LionThe Broadway productions of Fun Home, Disgraced and Hand to God were not eligible for nominations this year, as they had previously been considered during their off-Broadway engagements. Fun Home won Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical in 2014; Disgraced and Hand to God were nominated for the John Gassner Award in 2013 and 2012, respectively.Shows with three or more nominations:Something Rotten! – 12On the Twentieth Century – 9An American in Paris – 8Wolf Hall – 7It Shoulda Been You – 6The Audience – 6The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – 6Hamilton – 5The Elephant Man – 5The King and I – 5The Visit – 5On The Town – 4You Can’t Take It With You – 4The Heidi Chronicles – 3The Last Ship – 3 View Commentslast_img read more

Continue Reading